German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN)


Advisory Council of the International Academy for Nature Conservation

The Advisory Council consists out of 15 members from universities and scientific institutions, national and international NGOs, development cooperation, conservation authorities as well as from the German parliament.

In mid-April 2012, the first meeting of the newly established Advisory Council of the International Academy for Nature Conservation took place on the Isle of Vilm / Germany.

The Advisory Council shall advice the Academy on its further strategic direction and in the identification of key issues for workshops and seminars. It should assist in amplifying the results of the Academy's work by enhancing the networking.

The Advisory Council  meets once a year and elaborates recommendations for promoting the profile and impact of the Academy.


The Advisory Council is chaired by Dr. Carsten Neßhöver (UFZ Leipzig) and co-chaired by Trevor Sandwith (IUCN Global Protected Areas Programme). 

Carsten Neßhöver

Dr. Carsten Neßhöver (Chair)
Deputy Head of Department Conservation Biology at the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ), Germany

Trevor Sandwith

Trevor Sandwith (Co-Chair)
Director of the IUCN Global Protected Areas Programme, Switzerland

Thora Amend

Dr. Thora Amend
Independent Consultant

Regine Auster

Regine Auster
Director, "Haus der Natur" Potsdam, Germany

Christoph Heinrich

Christoph Heinrich
Director of the Conservation Department at WWF Germany

Pierre Ibisch

Prof. Dr. Pierre Ibisch
Professor for Nature Conservation, Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development, Germany

Steffi Lemke

Steffi Lemke
Member of the German Parliament, The Green Party

Carsten Loose

Dr. Carsten Loose
Deputy Secretary-General of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU), Germany

Reinhard Loske

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Loske
Professor for Politics, Sustainability and Transformation Dynamics, University Witten/Herdecke, Germany

Cathrin Münster, Photo: Southeast Rügen Biosphere Reserve

Cathrin Münster
Director, Southeast Rügen Biosphere Reserve, Germany

Ralf Röchert

Ralf Röchert
Head of Communications Department, Alfred Wegener institute for polar and marine research, Germany

Klaus-Peter Schulze

Dr. Klaus-Peter Schulze
Member of the German Parliament, CDU, member of the environmental committee

Christel Schröder

Christel Schröder
President, EURONATUR Foundation, Germany

Andrej Sovinc

Dr. Andrej Sovinc
Chair, IUCN WCPA Europe, and Director of the "Secovlje Salina Nature Park", Slovenia

Erika Stanciu

Erika Stanciu
Director, ProPark Foundation for Protected Areas, Romania