German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN)


The German MAB National Committee

Each country participating in the MAB Programme sets up a body acting as the link between the international and national levels. This body is generally a national committee. There are presently 158 national committees in the 195 UNESCO member states.

In Germany, the Federal Environment Minister reappointed the National Committee for the UNESCO “Man and the Biosphere” (MAB) Programme in 2018. The committee is composed of 17 eminent figures (see list of members below) representing science and practice. The experts bring together relevant experience in the various thematic fields covered by the programme. The current members of the committee are appointed to 2021.

The committee is chaired by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) and managed by the Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN).

Bundesamt für Naturschutz
Geschäftsstelle des deutschen Nationalkomitees des UNESCO MAB-Programms
Konstantinstrasse 110
53179 Bonn, Germany


Executive director: Ms. Barbara Engels

Tel.: +49 228 8491-1780

Assistant: Ms. Claudine Fenouillet 
Tel.: +49 228 8491-1782
Fax: +49 228 8491-1719

Tasks of the MAB National Committee

The tasks of the German MAB National Committee are:

  • to implement and further develop the interdisciplinary, intergovernmental UNESCO "Man and the Biosphere" (MAB) Programme
  • to advance the national contribution to the MAB Programme, notably to
    • continue to develop the Criteria for Designation and Evaluation of UNESCO Biosphere Reserves in Germany
    • elaborate strategies for sustainable management in biosphere reserves,
    • prepare strategies for nature education in biosphere reserves,
    • evaluate biosphere reserves in Germany,
    • explore opportunities to foster implementation of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) within the context of the MAB Programme, and
  • cooperate with the international MAB bodies of UNESCO.

The National Committee collaborates with various other institutions and bodies.


Members of the German MAB Committee
Michael Heugel (Chairperson) Head of Division N I 2 "Habitat Protection, Natura 2000" at BMU
Margret Brahms former Head of Department of Ministry of Energy, Agriculture, the Environment and Rural Areas Schleswig-Holstein (MELUR)
Gunther BrinkmannDirector of Forests of the Institute for Federal Real Estate (BImA)
Dr. Frauke DruckreyFormer Environmental Representative of the German Chemical Industry Association (VCI)
Renate DyllaNutritional science and Home economics, Project Management at Association of Organic Food Processors AöL
Birgit Grauvogel Executive secretary of Tourism Saarland
Thomas Habermann Chief administrative officer of Landkreis Rhön-Grabfeld (BR Rhön)
Prof. Dr. Hubertus JobUniversity of Würzburg, Chair for Geography and Regional Research
Adrian Johst Executive Secretary of Naturstiftung David of BUND Thüringen
Prof. Dr. Armin Lude Chair for Biology and Didactics, University of Education PH Ludwigsburg
Prof. Dr. Vera Luthardt Chair for Vegetation science and Applied Plant Ecology at the Eberwalde University for Sustainable Development
Helga May-DidionHead of Division, Nature Protection, Ministry of Environment and Consumerism of the Saarland
Dr. Lutz MöllerHead of Division "Science, Human Rights" of the German Commission for UNESCO (DUK)
Dr. Kim Pollermann Regional development, Thünen Institut
Prof. Dr. Diana PretzellHead of Nature Conservation WWF Germany
Prof. Dr. Irene Ring Technical University of Dresden, International Institute Zittau (IHI)
Prof. Dr. Werner Wahmhoff former Vice Secretary General and Head of Division "Environmental Research and Nature Conservation" of the German Federal Foundation for the Environment (DBU)

Further information

UNESCO database: 
German MAB Committee

Further bodies

Last Change: 17/02/2021