German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN)


Profile: FAO

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
founded in 1945


192 members (191 states plus the European Union). Germany has been a member of FAO since 27 November 1950.


FAO was set up in 1945 and is a specialised agency of the United Nations. Its task is to improve the production and distribution of agricultural products in general and of food in particular throughout the world, thus raising levels of nutrition and standards of living.

FAO develops guidelines for this purpose, among other things laying down international standards for food safety.

The Food and Agriculture Organisation has four main areas of focus:

  • Development assistance
  • Advising governments
  • Information on nutrition, food, agriculture, forestry and fisheries
  • International forum on key concerns in questions of nutrition


FAO is governed by the Conference of Member Nations, which meets every two years to review the work carried out by the Organisation and approve a Programme of Work and Budget for the next two-year period.

The Conference elects a Council of 49 member nations. Members serve three-year, rotating terms.

The Conference also elects a Director-General to head FAO. The current Director-General, Dr Jacques Diouf (Senegal) began his first six-year term in January 1994. He was re-elected for a second term in 2000 and a third in 2006.

FAO employs more than 3,700 staff members – about 1,500 professional and 2,200 general service staff – and currently maintains five regional offices, nine subregional offices, five liaison offices and 74 fully-fledged country offices.


FAO Headquaters
Viale delle Terme di Caracalla
00100 Rom, Italy
Tel: +39-06-57051
Fax: +39-06-570 53152


Further information

FAO website


Last Change: 16/06/2010