German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN)


Profile: OECD

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
founded in 1961


34 member countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Denmark, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, UK, USA. The European Commission carries an option for participation.


To promote integrated policies in member countries; to prepare environment reports evaluating member countries’ environment policies and their implementation.

OECD nature conservation activities relate to methods for measuring the value of biodiversity and to indicators.


The OECD set up its environment programme and Environmental Policy Committee (EPOC) in 1970. It provides governments with resources such as environmental information, environmental data and policy analyses. These help them implement environment policies effectively and economically.

The OECD provides internationally recognised policy instruments, decisions and recommendations for policy areas where multilateral coordination is necessary for individual nations to hold their own in a globalised world.

The OECD operates by the principles of dialogue, consensus and peer review. Its decision-making body is a Council consisting of representatives of member countries. The Council lays down guidelines for the work of committees and decides on the annual budget.


2, rue André Pascal
F-75775 Paris Cedex 16
Tel: +33-145242000
Fax: +33-145248500

OECD Berlin Centre
Schumannstr. 10
D-10117 Berlin
Tel: +49 30 2888 35-3
Fax: +49 30 2888 35-45

BfN activities:

BfN advises the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) on topics such as indicators and takes part in various OECD expert bodies.

Further information

OECD website


Last Change: 20/01/2011