German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN)


Natura 2000

Nature conservation provisions enshrined in the EU Habitats Directive.

The EU Habitats Directive

The EU Habitats Directive lists 231 natural habitat types (Annex I) and more than 1,000 animal and plant species (Annexes II, IV and V). Another 524 bird species occur naturally in the EU area and are protected under the EU Birds Directive.

Natural Habitat Types and Species

Information on the current status regarding Natura 2000 implementation in Germany: statistics, maps and sites

Natura 2000 Sites

Designation of Natura 2000 network sites.

Site Designation

To comply with the stringent provisions applied to Natura 2000 sites, mandatory reports are required every six years to document the conservation measures taken in areas protected under Article 17 of the EU Habitats Directive. The reports must also contain the key findings of the monitoring activities prescribed under Article 11 of the EU Habitats Directive.

Reporting and Monitoring

To improve the ecological coherence of the Natura 2000 network, Articles 3 and 10 of the Habitats Directive call on member states to encourage the management of landscape features that are essential for the migration, dispersal and genetic exchange of wild species and so improve the ecological coherence of the Natura 2000 network of protection areas and beyond.


Nature conservation measures taken in Natura 2000 sites can be funded at national and at EU level.


English BfN publications and other publications on this subject.




Last Change: 26/02/2021