German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN)


Habitat conservation

Occurrences in Germany of habitat types listed in Annex I of the Habitats Directive (grouped by formation)

FormationNumber of
Habitat Types
Marine and coastal habitat types20
Inland waters12
Bogs, mires and springs9
Heath and scrub10
Rocky habitats8

Source: Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN) after European Council 1992

As of 2013

Detailed source: European Council (1992): Council Directive 92/43/EEC of 21 May 1992 on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora. The Habitats Directive. In: EU Official Journal L 206, p. 7.

The Habitats Directive protects valuable habitats throughout the European Union

The EU Habitats Directive protects threatened and rare habitat types (known as habitats of community interest). Among other things, it aims to achieve a good conservation status for all habitat types listed in Annex I. This includes designating Sites of Community Importance (SCIs) in which special conservation measures are implemented.

In Germany, there are currently 4,557 SCIs (as of 2015) which also serve to protect the species listed in Annex II. The Habitats Directive SCIs and the Birds Directive Special Protection Areas (SPAs) form the EU Natura 2000 protected area network.

Some 92 of the habitat types listed in Annex I are found in Germany. Every six years, the member states publish reports on the successes achieved through conservation measures and through efforts to improve the conservation status of the habitat types. The same applies to the species covered by the Habitats Directive.